In This Section



This course gives students an understanding of the role of the law in today’s society. In addition to helping students to acquire subject knowledge, studying law helps to develop skills
of selection, analysis, critical thinking and decision making, and an awareness of the rights and responsibilities of individuals.

The Law GCSE provides a broad foundation of both knowledge and skills for the continuing study of Law at AS or A2, where certain areas can be studied in greater depth.

The main areas of study are:

The English Legal System:

This consists of a study of the meaning and definition of law, the hierarchy of the courts, looking at
Magistrates Courts, Crown Courts and County Courts. You will also study people in the law, such as
Juries, Magistrates, Judges, Solicitors and Barristers. Finally, you will study sources of English Law, which
involves looking at the making and importance of Acts of Parliament, Case Law and Precedent and
the relationship between the different sources of law. This unit is examined at the end of Year 10.

Law in Action:

This includes a study of the law of Tort, negligence, trespass and nuisance, Criminal Law, looking
at fatal offences, non-fatal offences, property offences and general defences. Family Law, studying
marriage, divorce and succession. Rights and responsibilities, for buyers and sellers, in employment
and as a citizen. This unit will be examined at the end of Year 11.


There will be an opportunity for a range of varied activities such as group work, discussion and
debates, individual research, source work and extended writing.

There are TWO examination papers:

Unit 1 - The English Legal System (90 marks) 50% - 1 hour and 30 minutes.
To be taken at the end of Year 10
Unit 2 - Law in Action (90 marks) 50% - 1 hour and 30 minutes.

To be taken at the end of Year 11